top of page

The Summer of 2020




By: Grace Evans


Summer is my favorite time of the year. It’s when me and my family travel for vacation, have bonfires, and stay up late with not a worry in the world. Last summer I would have big parties with my friends and family, go watch scary movies in the movie theatre, and be able to go into any store without wearing a mask. Summer was not the same this year.


This summer has been so different from the rest. People had to adjust all of their summer plans to accommodate the covid-19 restrictions. We couldn’t have a large gathering and if we did people would be scared of getting corona. I was planning on going to Florida, but where I wanted to go ended up being a hot spot and I had to cancel my flight. If I went to Florida, I would have to quarantine for two weeks when I got home. It was all just unbelievable, everything people wanted to do was altered due to covid-19.


Every time I went somewhere all I could see were the big signs that told us to stay six feet apart from each other and to wear a mask. I would bring a mask everywhere I went because some places won’t let you in without one. I never thought in my lifetime that masks would be a necessity, but I guess I was wrong.


Some families had to cancel all their plans just to protect someone in their house from getting covid-19. They canceled vacations, big birthday celebrations, and big holiday parties. They even started picking up their groceries instead of going inside to get them. So many crazy alterations.


This may not have been the summer we were all hoping for but it is definitely a summer we will never forget. At least we got to make many more memories with our own families. I hope that summer 2021 will be back to normal.


bottom of page