top of page

The Band: Getting Funds=New Instruments





The Licking Valley Music department, specifically the band program, have needed new instruments for a few years now. When an inventory was recently reported, a decent amount of the school owned instruments have needed a repair of some sort. Previously our budget has been limited due to the coronavirus and our competitions getting canceled this year.


The week of September 29th, 2020, my instrument (a school owned baritone, it is actually in the above picture:) needed repaired. On the baritone the third valve would get stuck at a certain point and I could not play certain notes such as a low C, a low D flat, an F sharp, a low F and there are many notes that do not have a proper sound on that specific baritone. I then have to use a euphonium in class later that week and it sounded airy when I tried to play a note. I couldn’t even play one note properly! A euphonium is basically the same instrument as a baritone, just a slightly different shape. The bell on the baritone faces more outward, Where as on a euphonium the bell would face up-word.

I then, attempt to play another baritone and the first valve was sticky and I tried putting valve oil on it and taking it out and putting it back in and it didn’t work. This was the third instrument in three days that I have used. I finally had to get a marching baritone, which has a completely different shape than the baritone horn. The marching baritone looks like a huge trumpet. I have had to use this marching baritone for a two weeks.


Finally an instrument that I can play and there was not any significant problems! This is my point exactly, the week of September 28th, I went through three baritones before receiving a marching baritone to utilize temporarily. Clearly it is time for some new instruments in our program!


Quite a few other people in the band have also needed instrument repairs recently. When an instrument needs repaired we send it to the CA House Music. At the CA House Music, they see what the problem is and attempt to fix the problem on the instrument. Most of the time when an instrument gets sent in to repair, the problem is fixed and ready for the student to rehearse and practice with again.

The one problem with buying new instruments is that one baritone is around $2,200, that is quite expensive. With COVID-19 going on which canceled in-person school during the last nine weeks last school year, and our annual Band Fest getting canceled because bands are not allowed to compete this year, it has been hard for the music department to pay for new instruments. It also costs $300 just to fix the third valve on my instrument.

However, rumor has it that businesses have donated enough money to the music department to buy some new instruments. I have heard that a couple of companies and businesses have donated thousands of dollars toward the band buying new instruments for the students to use for class, practice outside of school, marching band, and jazz ensemble.

Some of the best brands for instruments of all sorts are Yamaha, Jupiter, Bach, and Conn. These brands produce high quality instruments for students. With these instruments students can play a simple scale and they could also play a challenging piece. With proper care of the instrument and practice, anything can happen! I mean there was a week during quarantine that I had practiced for twenty plus hours! (Four hours each week-day and two hours each day on the weekend.)

I interviewed Licking Valley band director, Mr. John Barrett about the businesses that are donating money to get new school owned instruments. I asked Mr. Barrett, “What are some of the businesses that had donated money to us for new instruments?”He responded to this question by saying, “three business have donated money for new instruments: First Federal Bank, Park National Bank, and Browns Distributing has donated an instrument to the band program” I also asked him, “how many new instruments are we going getting?” His response to this question was “as of right now we are getting two instruments, but I would like to get four new instruments for our students to use” Finally I asked him, “What kind of instruments are we going to receive? (woodwind, brass, percussion)” He replied to my question by saying “we are receiving a new baritone and a new euphonium as of right now.”

With this interview in mind I knew that I was going to get the first new baritone and the new euphonium because 1. Mr. Barrett has mentioned to me numerous times that I will be receiving the first new baritone and the first new euphonium. 2. I have had more instrumental issues in a short amount of time than anyone can imagine. The baritone and euphonium arrived on October 14th. I will use the baritone for marching band purposes and the euphonium for concert band purposes.

I also interviewed a couple of band members that are currently utilizing a school owned instrument.

First I interviewed sophomore Dakotah Nash, who plays the baritone saxophone. Last school year Dakatah had to send his instrument to the CA House Music to get repaired. I asked Dakotah “What problem or problems did your instrument have that you had to send it to the CA House Music for instrumental repairs in the past” he replied to my question my saying “I had to get a key on my instrument that needed fixed after my instrument fell” and I also asked “About how long do you feel that your instrument was out for repair.” Dakotah responded to this question by saying “it took between a week and two weeks for my instrument to get repaired.”

Next I interviewed sophomore Justin Higgins who plays the sousaphone, tuba, and bass trombone in the marching band, concert band, and jazz ensemble. I asked Justin “have you ever encountered any specific problems with your sousaphone, tuba, or bass trombone within the past school year?”His answer to my question was “no, I have not encountered any problems with instruments this year” and I asked “have you ever had to send any of the instruments that you play or had played to get repaired?” Justin responded to this question by saying “yes, I had to send a sousaphone to get repaired because my instrument was leaking.”

To conclude, us students who are involved in the band program are thankful and grateful to be receiving funds for new instruments, some of which we have needed for quite a while now. Hopefully, when we receive these instruments and funds for instruments in the near future, we will be able to have a newly updated and accurate inventory. Some of these instruments we have needed for a while, and the fact that we will finally be able to receive some funds and some new instruments is excellent. Students such as myself that have used school-owned instruments will have the opportunity to play great quality instruments.



bottom of page