top of page

Influencers in Trouble on Social Media




Is it easy to over share on social media? How many times do people share inappropriate information? Social media can be a good thing for keeping up with family members and friends, but not always in the work world. Many people have made mistakes on social media, and have also lost their job because of it. Controversial/ unpopular opinions shouldn’t be shared on social media.


Trump and Biden have been a topic of discussion on the media. Jose Been, a cyclist on the WorldTeam, was recently kicked off his team because of something he said about Trump on Twitter. Jose said, “My dear American friends, I hope this horrible presidency ends for you. And for us as (former?) allies too. If you follow me and support Trump, you can go. There is zero excuse to follow or vote for the vile, horrible man”. Quinn Simmons, an American cyclist that has been part of the WorldTeam, responded “Bye (with an emoji of a hand waving)”.


In June of 2020, Alex Kompothecras was cut from the show “Siesta Keys”. Siesta Keys is a reality show that revolves around Julet Porter and Alex. But a few of Alex’s racist tweets resurfaced and he was kicked off the show. The 3rd season of Siesta Keys aired a few days after he got in trouble. He was edited out of the show completely. The most of him that was shown was the back of his head, even his voice was cut from the show.


In July of 2020, Nick Cannon was fired from the Masked Singer. He said in a podcast “I will not be bullied, silenced, or continuously oppressed by any organization, group or corporation,” he wrote. “I am disappointed that Viacom does not understand or respect the power of the Black community. I was a member of the Viacom ‘family’ for over twenty years. Since I was a minor, we worked together to make great positive entertainment and I was handed many opportunities that I am grateful for” (U.S Magazine). After that CBS announced that they were ending their ties with him. Nick did later apologize for his “hate speech”.


Like I said before, social media isn’t the best place to share your opinions or thoughts. Most of the celebrities I wrote about shouldn’t have been fired for what they had said. I think Nick and Jose just shared their opinions on controversial topics and the people they work with/ for just didn’t agree with what they had to say. But I think Alex deserved to be removed from Siesta Keys. He was wrong for being racist.


Work cited



bottom of page