top of page

Music and Dance: The Language All Can Understand


Hidden Language

Music and dance are woven into a language that we all can speak. It is an art in which people connect, without words spoken or actions exchanged it can create an environment of love, and a place of acceptance. In the 2019s season of Dancing with the Stars, actor James Van Der Beek speaks out after a miscarriage within his relationship. He dedicates the dance to his wife and sympathizes with America, “when words fail you sing. When there are no words you dance”(Van Der Beek). Touching everyone around him he dances a beautiful foxtrot to the song Take Me to Church; a song that’s focuses on connections with people, portraying emotions through a song and a dance that everyone can connect with.

Within my own life, I have seen the art of this language in motion. At a youth conference, outside music blaring and dancing happening. I found a friend, a friend I was able to make without words. We danced the night away smiles beaming and the bass pounding. Still to this day, I do not know her name but I could recognize her anywhere. Little did I know the girl I was dancing with was deaf, unable to hear and speak, but she danced. We made a connection through dance that would have been close to impossible out of that environment. We were able to form an unforgettable relationship through this artful language. Some may believe magic does not exist but music and dance can do amazing things, some even unexplainable.

bottom of page