top of page

Are Spirits Real?


There has always been multiple beliefs on if spirits, ghosts are real. A spirit is the non-physical part of a person, meaning their soul. When someone dies you wonder where the soul goes whether it’s to heaven, hell, or believe there is no afterlife. Forty-five percent of Americans believe in spirits, ghosts, and demons. From a person from experience I definitely believe in both good and bad spirits.

It is often a joke to teens to mess around with the spiritual world whether it’s trying to do a seance or playing with a ouija board. Then of course we have the movies that are based on a true story like The Conjuring directed by James Wan. Ghost stories become fiction and today Americans fear so much they put it into blank existence without in open-mind.

On the 20 of April of 2019 I believe so much more in peace and that spirits are real. Every person may be uncertain about the spiritual world until they have first hand experienced it. April 20th was my dad's birthday, and every year we go to his grave to set balloons off with a message on it. My Aunt and Grandma were the first to get there and I was following my mom and sisters while I was driving with my cousin. We all pull into the cemetery and get to his grave to see My aunt and grandma bawling. It’s not unusual to cry to go to someone's grave but we always tried to make it a good day so I was confused. It gets even more crazier when they opened their mouths and spit out that they saw my dad. I know right, crazy, I thought the same thing. I doubted them one-hundred percent until they told me the story…. My Aunt had been cleaning off my father's grave when my grandma mumbled to My Aunt that this guy was staring at them. When my Aunt got up to look at the man and they just stared back and forth for about 30 seconds and my aunt swore that was his face. They were yelling James and then he walked into the woods and no trace was found. My 60 year old grandma took pictures because she knew we had to see it. He had a glow around his body and his feet looked like they weren’t even touching the ground. We searched for the way he walked and it had just rained and there was a river he walked into. No footprints, no sign of anybody.

We cried for about a half hour, set the balloons off and went about our day. Later that night my aunt was at work and she looked at her phone and the time was 8:08. Then she was playing her game and the jackpot was 808 coins. 8-08-08 is the date my dad passed away. The adults of my family went out to have a bar and took a shot for my dad that night and my Aunt got money out and on the screen it said 911. She then looked up why spirits come in body form and it told her it’s to warn you. Later that night we had to call an ambulance because my mom was diabetic and almost went into a coma. We believe it was him and he was warning us, and some believe it was a coincidence. It depends on who you are, what you’ve been through, and what you believe.

I believe there is an after world of peace in the afterlife. It may be from the experience and weird coincidence I’ve had with my dad but I truly like to believe there is peace so I can have that kind of peace in my mind. To believe in much more than just the world we live in.

bottom of page