top of page

We Are Different Within Every Aspect of Life


The world is full of contrasting, diverse, beautiful people all in one way or another, not anything like the person sitting right beside them, all can range from the color of skin to complementary ways of thinking completing the world. Some take people with autism, or dwarfism, gayness, down syndrome... and pushes them further away from what society has built as the tree of acceptance. All over the world people are misunderstood, misinterpreted and thought of differently in this society, due to the diversity and the uniqueness that we all share; that specialness that makes everyone up as their perfect authentic selves. People stigmatize others as people of less value, or of less importance when everyone is gifted with greater importance and is worth more than can be fathomed. Our society builds walls around who the world believes to be the best, greatest, and most perfect, and look down upon people with differences, people with superpowers. Powers to bring joy in the darkest of times.

I was given the opportunity to work with one of these astonishing people at a point in my life where I misunderstood love and the difference, and similarities within that feeling. She showed me the world through a different pair of eyes, from a different perspective. She taught me to live in the moment, she left me speechless in the sense of life. It was a faint day just like every other day of the summer, same routine, same pink monkey stuffed animal in one hand, and a bug net in the other. She looked at me and giggled, she waved her magic bug net and put a spell on me, a sleeping spell, and I was told to keep my eyes shut. Her next words were, “only broken with true loves kiss,” I giggle to myself, my eyes stilled closed and my imagination roaming. She became super quiet, very unexpected for Makayla, and what I feel next is a thoughtful kiss on my shoulder followed by the words, “wake up.” Back to her giggly self with the sense that I understood her communication of love, different from everyday people; she didn’t just say it, she showed it. She communicated through actions not only words, making each and every action mean more then words could ever hope. She is misunderstood by so many people who think she can’t understand everything they can. We were back to the everyday routine but we were connected on a deeper level of friendship and trust that was earned.

The world is full of contrasting, diverse, beautiful people all in one way or another, perfect in their own way, keep your eyes open or you might miss it.

bottom of page