top of page

Do video games affect your everyday life?

Researchers have discovered that video games cause health issues, addictions and more. There are over 2.2 billion gamers worldwide, which is 47% of our world population. Gaming effects more kids than adults, but adults are more likely to pass it onto their kids. Like If a parent is gaming, a kid is going to want to game to. There are all these new games coming out that are advertised as good entertainment. There are also games that are different genres. All these new games keep young/older people interested in playing. There are new systems that have came out in the past year such as xbox one, Nintendo switch, Wii U.

Video games cause big concern for the health field. Author McMaster of University State implies, We have been studying kids, we soon to notice that video game players become obese due to gaming all the time” (Science Daily) . There are over 37% of people that become obese due to the lack of exercise. Exercise is one of the most important necessities to do during your day. Video games also causes seizures, if you notice on the back of video games it says, “caution this game might cause seizures due to the blue lights” . This would be a big cushion sign for kids with disabilities or kids that are triggered by flashing lights or blue lights.

I interviewed Rachael Birkhimer from a parents perspective. She states, video games are a waste of time. It ruins a kids education, it also creates a health problem for kids. If kids are going to play video game all day they wouldn't get exercise. which exercise is the most important part of the day. Then there will be kids that get sick because their immune system isn't strong enough” (Birkhimer). Then looking from a kids point of view I interviewed, Owen Stamper for this side of the story. He states, “Video games are fun and we are only a kid once. I didn't really start playing video games until Fornite and Far Cry 5 came out. When I come home from school I go straight to my room to play my game. I will say I saw a big difference I wasn't hanging with friends no more and I gained about 20 pounds. I will say there is a big difference from when I didn't play and to now” (Stamper). Overall It's based on our perspective how video games affect people or if videogames are a big concern is society.

bottom of page