top of page

Dominaria

On April 27th this year the newest expansion for a card game, Magic the Gathering, was released. There is a large group of students who play Magic the Gathering (MTG) in this school, so I was curious about what they thought of Dominaria. Dominaria adds almost 270 cards to the already enormous pool of cards in MTG and changes up many of the previously thought to be set-in-stone rules of the game.

Two students were interviewed and asked what they liked and dislike about Dominaria, as well as what they were looking forward to.

The first student will be given the name Billy. Billy said “My favorite thing is the new planeswalker card called Teferi, Hero of Dominaria because it fits my favorite setups for decks.” He also said he disliked “everything else.” Billy says he is “looking forward to the types of decks that are focused around Teferi.”

The second student will be given the name Bob. Bob said“I am not really sure what my favorite thing is but I do like how there are more than just two good types of decks.” He also added that he does “not like the new rule about historic cards and how they change up everything I’ve ever known but I do look forward to seeing the insane things that can be done with it”.

I also am a player of MTG and when I thought about the questions and what my answers would have been I came to a simple solution. Personally I am very happy about the rule change regarding historic cards, but I am not very happy about the change to planeswalker cards, which makes them much stronger than they used to be. The final question made me think a bit more, but in the end I am most excited to see the return of decks focused mainly around wizards and spells instead of the type that has been dominant for a few years now of rush your opponent and win as fast as possible.

So overall, the general consensus, even if it doesn’t seem that way, is that Dominaria is a set that flips everything upside down but that is a good thing. Everyone I talked to, even those I did not interview, seem excited about Dominaria and a little afraid about learning the new rules and metas.

bottom of page