top of page

Ditch Day

On April 13th, I skipped school due to senior ditch day. I was pretty excited because I had already missed the two previous days of school. Senior ditch day was pretty lame, considering the people in charge (those who decide they make the rules) are terrible at communicating. There was a poll on Twitter for seniors to decide on an activity to do, but most of the class didn’t even know about it. I found out that they decided to go camping, which wasn’t intriguing to me. I spent most of the day sleeping and watching YouTube videos, as usual. Instead of camping, the group of seniors who wanted to participate in a class activity went bowling instead, which still didn’t interest me. It pretty much felt like a typical day, but it was slightly better since I didn’t have to come to school.

This is interesting because every senior experienced something different. Some decided to do the group activity, some went out, and others (like me) stayed in bed. It’s also important because, maybe future seniors will be better at including the whole class.

My friend, Katie Curry, spent her day at home as well. The only difference between our days was that she laid outside instead of in bed. The weather was really nice, which is odd for Ohio, so I understand. She ended up staying out too long and got sunburned. I suppose that made it not very exciting for her either.

Senior ditch day seems like it’s going to be exciting because it’s senior year. However, it just feels like any other day. Senior year makes you happy to miss any day of school. So, overall, it’s better than nothing.

bottom of page